Review: A Fall of Marigolds by Susan Meissner

Review: A Fall of Marigolds by Susan Meissner

fullsizeoutput_3245

Title: A Fall of Marigolds

About the author: (credit to Goodreads)

fullsizeoutput_3246

Publish Date: February 4, 2014

Publisher: Berkley, NAL, Penguin Randomhouse

Pages: 394

Genre: Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, Family Saga Fiction

Synopsis:

A beautiful scarf connects two women touched by tragedy in this compelling, emotional novel from the author of As Bright As Heaven and The Last Year of the War.

September 1911. On Ellis Island in New York Harbor, nurse Clara Wood cannot face returning to Manhattan, where the man she loved fell to his death in the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire. Then, while caring for a fevered immigrant whose own loss mirrors hers, she becomes intrigued by a name embroidered onto the scarf he carries…and finds herself caught in a dilemma that compels her to confront the truth about assumptions she’s made. What she learns could devastate her- or free her.

September 2011. On Manhattan’s Upper West Side, widow Taryn Michaels has convinced herself that she is living fully, working in a charming specialty fabric store and raising her daughter alone. Then a long-lost photograph appears in a national magazine, and she is forced to relive the terrible day her husband died in the collapse of the World Trade Towers…the same day a stranger reached out and saved her. But a chance reconnection and a century-old scarf may open Taryn’s eyes to the larger forces at work in her life.

fullsizeoutput_3247

My Review:

“Everything Beautiful has a story it wants to tell.”

I fell in love with Susan Meissner’s writing, after reading As Bright As Heaven last year. It was only natural that I decided I needed to read everything else written by Meissner. A Fall of Marigolds is a beautiful story about love and heartache. It’s a journey of sorts told through the eyes of two women, years apart, but both sharing a tragedy.

I enjoyed this book very much! I loved learning more about Ellis Island and the process that takes place as immigrants crossed over to America, and were held at the hospital before they could come into the United States.

Praise:
“A shimmering novel of love and acceptance.”            –New York Times bestselling author Sandra Dallas
“[Meissner] creates two sympathetic, reliable characters that readers will applaud. Touching and inspirational.”                                        –Kirkus Reviews
Review: No Exit by Taylor Adams

Review: No Exit by Taylor Adams

fullsizeoutput_3195

Title: No Exit

About the author: (credit to Goodreads)

fullsizeoutput_3196

Publish Date: January 15, 2019

Publisher: William Morrow

Pages: 352

Genre:Mystery & Thrillers

Synopsis:

One of the tensest, most gripping thrillers you will ever read. From Taylor Adams, UK and US best selling author.

A kidnapped little girl locked in a stranger’s van. No help for miles. What would you do?

Darby Thorne is a college student stranded by a blizzard at a highway rest stop in the middle of nowhere. She’s on the way home to see her sick mother. She’ll have to spend the night in the rest stop with four complete strangers. Then she stumbles across a little girl locked inside one of their parked cars.

There is no cell phone reception, no telephone, no way out because of the snow, and she doesn’t know which one of the other travelers is the kidnapper.

Full of shocking twists and turns, this beautifully written novel will have you on the edge of your seat. 

Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, or Stephen King.

Who is the little girl? Why has she been taken? And how can Darby save her?

fullsizeoutput_3197

My Review:

What a wild ride! A nail biting page turner for sure. I loved the fast pace of this book, with action right away. I liked the storyline of the little girl being discovered and the unraveling of why this happened. However,  there were just some things that I couldn’t give a full five stars for. I felt like things were a bit stretched in the storyline, but enjoyable overall.

Atmospheric, stranded at a rest stop in the middle of a blizzard. A psychopath amongst you, and there is a child. In a cage. Whaaaat?! Sounds like my worst nightmare!

Praise:

“What a box of tricks! This full-throttle thriller, dark and driving, rivals Agatha Christie for sheer ingenuity and James Patterson for flat-out speed. Swift, sharp, and relentless.”                        -A.J Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Woman in the Window

No Exit is everything I want in a thriller: ingeniously crafted, unapologetically relentless, and shamelessly suspenseful. The twists go off like a series of expertly planted detonations and the tension never lets up. I was blown away. No Exit is a damn good time.”       -Joe Hill, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fireman

 

Review: The Beantown Girls by Jane Healy

Review: The Beantown Girls by Jane Healy

{Thank you to netgalley and Lake Union Publishing for an advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review}

fullsizeoutput_3178

Title: The Beantown Girls

About the author: (credit to Goodreads)

fullsizeoutput_318c

Publish Date: February 5, 2019

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing, Amazon Publishing

Pages: 361

Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis:

An Amazon Charts and Washington Post bestseller.

A novel of love, courage, and danger unfolds as World War II’s brightest heroines- the best of friends- take on the front lines.

1944. Fiona has her entire future planned out. She’ll work in city hall, marry her fiance when he returns from the war, and settle down in the Boston suburbs. But when her fiance is reported missing after being shot down in Germany, Fiona’s long-held plans are shattered.

Determined to learn her fiance’s fate, Fiona leaves Boston to volunteer overseas as a Red Cross Clubmobile girl, recruiting her two best friends to come along. There’s the outspoken Viviana, who is more than happy to quit her secretarial job for a taste of adventure. Then there’s Dottie. A shy music teacher whose melodious talents are sure to bring heart and hope to the boys on the front lines.

Chosen for their inner strength and outer charm, the trio isn’t prepared for the dauntingchallenges of war. But through it all come new friendships and romances, unforseen dangers, and unexpected dreams. As the three friends begin to understand the real reasons they all came to the front, their courage and camaraderie will see them through some of the best and worst times of their lives.

fullsizeoutput_318b

My Review:

Another part of WWII history that I never even knew about! The Red Cross Clubmobile Girls helped raise morale during the war handing out coffee and making donuts, pitching in wherever they were needed. They helped aid the soldiers during this time in history and I admired these women so much!

I loved The Beantown Girls so much! Fiona, Viviana, and Dottie were the three beauties who were friends since college, and decide to enter this next adventure together, to help the soldiers oversees. My first book by Healey and I am a big fan of her work!

Praise:

“Equally heartbreaking and heartwarming, this meticulously researched book about the fascinating Red Cross Clubmobvile program charmed me from page one. I fell in love with the characters and how Healey brought this important piece of WWII history to life. The Beantown Girls is must-read-historical fiction about love, hope, friendship, and the resilience of the human spirit.”             -Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls

“A fantastic story of friendship, love, and bravery. Historical fiction at its finest, inviting the reader into little-known parts of our past and bringing it to bloom with characters we love right away.”                                     -Camille Di Maio, bestselling author of The Memory Of Us

 

Review: Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J.D Vance

Review: Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J.D Vance

fullsizeoutput_3172

Title: Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

About the author: (credit to Goodreads)

fullsizeoutput_3174

Publish Date: June 28, 2016

Publisher: Harper

Pages: 257

Genre: Non-Fiction, Memoir

Synopsis:

From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles of America’s white working class. Hillbilly Elegy is a passionate and personal analysis of a culture in crisis- that of white working-class Americans. The decline of this group, a demographic of our country that has been slowly disintegrating over forty years, has been reported on with growing frequency and alarm, but has never before been written about as searingly from the inside.

J.D Vance tells the true story of what a social, regional, and class decline feels like when you were born with it hung around your neck. Vance piercingly shows how he himself still carries around the demons of his chaotic family history. A deeply moving memoir with its share of humor and vividly colorful figures, Hillbilly Elegy is the story of how upward mobility really feels.

fullsizeoutput_3171

My Review:

I had high hopes for Hillbilly Elegy. It was recommended by many people, and was on bestseller lists, so I thought for sure that it would be the book for me. I just found the writing to be boring, and full of unnecessary cursing. I’m not one to be offended by any means, but the constant use of foul language became a distraction. I even tried listening to this book as an audiobook, but it was narrated by the author, which is not always a good decision. It seemed like he was exhausted reading, and was reading some parts fast and choppy, stringing sentences together.

I was still touched by the story though, and the true concept behind this memoir. Destined for a life in drugs, but to overcome poverty and go against the statistic to become someone that legends are made of.

⭐️⭐️⭐️

Praise:

“A compassionate, discerning sociological analysis…combining thoughtful inquiry with firsthand experience, Mr. Vance has inadvertently provided a civilized reference guide for an uncivilized election, and he’s done so in a vocabulary intelligible to both Democrats and Republicans. Imagine that.”             – Jennifer Senior, New York Times