Review: The Roxy Letters by Mary Pauline Lowry (4/7/20) #bookreview @simonbooks #theroxyletters #partner

Review: The Roxy Letters by Mary Pauline Lowry (4/7/20) #bookreview @simonbooks #theroxyletters #partner

*thank you Simon & Schuster for the gifted copy for review. All opinions are my own

Title: The Roxy Letters

About the author: (from author’s bio site)

Genre: Women’s Fiction; Coming-of-Age

Publish Date: April 7, 2020

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Purchase here

What I Loved/Thought: ★★★★★

The Roxy Letters was everything I hoped it would be! It was such a fun, quirky read, and I adored main character Roxy so much. From her hilarious antics of working as the Deli Maid at Whole Foods to her burgeoning friendship with eccentric Artemis.

There were so many laugh out loud moments.. including Princess and her Pea.. the sushi..and the pink python panties.

Loved it and it definitely made me escape the past few days!

About the Book:

Meet Roxy. She’s a sometimes vegan, always broke artist with a heart the size of Texas and an ex living in her spare bedroom. Her life is messy, but with the help of a few good friends and by the grace of the goddess Venus she’ll discover that good sex, true love, and her life’s purpose are all closer than she realizes.

Bridget Jones penned a diary; Roxy writes letters. Specifically: she writes letters to her hapless, rent-avoidant ex-boyfriend—and current roommate—Everett. This charming and funny twenty-something is under-employed (and under-romanced), and she’s decidedly fed up with the indignities she endures as a deli maid at Whole Foods (the original), and the dismaying speed at which her beloved Austin is becoming corporatized. When a new Lululemon pops up at the intersection of Sixth and Lamar where the old Waterloo Video used to be, Roxy can stay silent no longer.

As her letters to Everett become less about overdue rent and more about the state of her life, Roxy realizes she’s ready to be the heroine of her own story. She decides to team up with her two best friends to save Austin—and rescue Roxy’s love life—in whatever way they can. But can this spunky, unforgettable millennial keep Austin weird, avoid arrest, and find romance—and even creative inspiration—in the process?

Praise:

“Naughty, effervescent fun. A novel abounding in dauschunds, tweakers, real fulfillment centers, aisles of strange beer, and shrines to Venus (they work!). Roxy rocks Austin. And rights the world.”
Joy Williams, author of The Visiting Privilege 

“Bawdy, frank and laugh-out-loud funny, The Roxy Letters brings to antic life all the hilarity and peppy horrors of being rootless and questing in your twenties.”
Julia Claiborne Johnson, author of Be Frank With Me

 “Tom Robbins meets Bridget Jones’ Diary, eccentric, fun, delicious, for the thinking woman who loves her vagina.”
Rufi Thorpe, author of Dear Fang, with Love

“Roxy’s life, from its wildly risqué escapades to its numerous crises du jour, is a total blast. Lowry’s debut is the racy, funny page-turner we could use in these times.”—J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of The Great Midwest  

Review: Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel #partner @BerkleyPub #bookreview #darlingrosegold #debut 3/17/20 pub date

Review: Darling Rose Gold by Stephanie Wrobel #partner @BerkleyPub #bookreview #darlingrosegold #debut 3/17/20 pub date

*Thank you Berkley Pub for the free copy for review. All opinions are my own

Title: Darling Rose Gold

About the author:

Genre: mystery/thriller

Publish Date: March 17, 2020

Publisher: Berkley

Purchase here

What I Loved/Thought: ★★★★★

It may have been a week to remember, but this book was so good to escape with each day, and I was fully captivated by the story of Rose Gold and her Mom Patty.⁣

I was so fascinated by the Münchausen syndrome storyline. I went in completely blind and I’m so glad that I waited to read this one this past week. Just the crazy kind of story to let my mind escape for a bit.⁣

About the Book:

Mothers never forget. Daughters never forgive. 
  
For the first eighteen years of her life, Rose Gold Watts believed she was seriously ill. She was allergic to everything, used a wheelchair and practically lived at the hospital. Neighbors did all they could, holding fundraisers and offering shoulders to cry on, but no matter how many doctors, tests, or surgeries, no one could figure out what was wrong with Rose Gold. 

Turns out her mom, Patty Watts, was just a really good liar. 

After serving five years in prison, Patty gets out with nowhere to go and begs her daughter to take her in. The entire community is shocked when Rose Gold says yes. 

Patty insists all she wants is to reconcile their differences. She says she’s forgiven Rose Gold for turning her in and testifying against her. But Rose Gold knows her mother. Patty Watts always settles a score. 

Unfortunately for Patty, Rose Gold is no longer her weak little darling… 

And she’s waited such a long time for her mother to come home. 

Praise:

Review: A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler #bookreview @stmartinspress #partner #agoodneighborhood 3/10/20 pub day

Review: A Good Neighborhood by Therese Anne Fowler #bookreview @stmartinspress #partner #agoodneighborhood 3/10/20 pub day

*thank you St Martin’s Press and Goodreads for the gifted copy for review. All opinions are my own.

Title: A Good Neighborhood

About the author: (from Amazon)

Genre: Fiction

Publish Date: March 10, 2020

Publisher: St Martin’s Press; Macmillan

Purchase here

What I Loved/Thought: ★★★★★

*It’s been days later since I finished reading this, and I’m still processing all of my emotions and maybe had a bit of a book hangover..

It’s heartbreaking and frustrating, and it definitely brought the emotions. I think this one is best to go into blindly, but while the first half was a 3 for me, that last half deserves all the stars.⁣

About the Book:

“A feast of a read… I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it’s that good.” ―Jodi Picoult, #1New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light

In Oak Knoll, a verdant, tight-knit North Carolina neighborhood, professor of forestry and ecology Valerie Alston-Holt is raising her bright and talented biracial son, Xavier, who’s headed to college in the fall. All is well until the Whitmans―a family with new money and a secretly troubled teenage daughter―raze the house and trees next door to build themselves a showplace.

With little in common except a property line, these two families quickly find themselves at odds: first, over an historic oak tree in Valerie’s yard, and soon after, the blossoming romance between their two teenagers. 

A Good Neighborhood asks big questions about life in America today―what does it mean to be a good neighbor? How do we live alongside each other when we don’t see eye to eye?―as it explores the effects of class, race, and heartrending love in a story that’s as provocative as it is powerful.

Praise:

Review: Behind Every Lie by Christina McDonald #behindeverylie #bookreview @GalleryBooks #partner 2/4/20 pub date

Review: Behind Every Lie by Christina McDonald #behindeverylie #bookreview @GalleryBooks #partner 2/4/20 pub date

*thank you Gallery Books for the gifted copy for review

Title: Behind Every Lie

About the author: (credit to Amazon)

Genre: Mystery/thriller

Publish Date: February 4, 2020

Publisher: Gallery Books; Simon & Schuster

Purchase here

What I Loved/Thought: ★★★☆☆

3.5 stars! The Night Olivia Fell was one of my favorite 5 star reads last year, so I was very excited to get my hands on Behind Every Lie by Christina McDonald.

As Eva wakes up covered in blood, she has been struck by lightning and the events leading up to her Mother’s death are foggy. That plot alone will grab your attention, and I will say the very first page definitely did just that.

However, there were so many twists and turns, to the point that it broke away my engagement with the storyline because it was just to the point of stretching. I wanted to love this book, but overall it was just an okay read for me. I would still recommend for a quick and compelling read, but just know that you may end up with whiplash from all the twists and turns!

About the Book:

Product Description

From the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Night Olivia Fell—an “emotionally charged mystery” (Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author)comes a thrilling new suspense novel about the insidious nature of family secrets…and their deadly potential.

If you can’t remember it, how do you prove you didn’t do it?

Eva Hansen wakes in the hospital after being struck by lightning and discovers her mother, Kat, has been murdered. Eva was found unconscious down the street. She can’t remember what happened but the police are highly suspicious of her.

Determined to clear her name, Eva heads from Seattle to London—Kat’s former home—for answers. But as she unravels her mother’s carefully held secrets, Eva soon realizes that someone doesn’t want her to know the truth. And with violent memories beginning to emerge, Eva doesn’t know who to trust. Least of all herself.

Told in alternating perspectives from Eva’s search for answers and Kat’s mysterious past, Christina McDonald has crafted another “complex, emotionally intense” (Publishers Weekly) domestic thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell’s I Found You and Karin Slaughter’s Pieces of Her, Behind Every Lie explores the complicated nature of mother-daughter relationships, family trauma, and the danger behind long-held secrets.

Praise:

Behind Every Lie is a deep, suspenseful novel packed with family secrets. Christina McDonald has a true gift for creating characters that are so well-developed, it feels like you know them. An outstanding achievement!”

– Samantha Downing, author of the #1 International Bestseller My Lovely Wife

“In Behind Every Lie, Christina McDonald brilliantly intertwines page-turning suspense with jaw-dropping family secrets. An emotionally-charged domestic thriller that is sure to please!”  

– Wendy Walker, national bestselling author of The Night Before